History Of Qena
The town was called Caene (New Town) by the ancient Greeks to distinguish it from Coptos (now Qifṭ), 23 km south, whose trade with Arabia, India, and China it eventually acquired. The shift resulted from the use of a more northerly route across the Eastern Desert to the ports at Safaga and Al-Quṣier. Excavations at Al- Quṣier indicates that the route change occurred after the Mamlūk period (after 1517). The northerly route’s trade diminished in the Ottoman period, but the route remained in use for the Muslim Upper Egyptians making the hajj (pilgrimage) to Mecca.
In addition to its Ancient Egyptian heritage as the city of Caenepolis. Qena has a considerable Islamic heritage and a famous mosque. The Maghrebi Abd el-Rahim settled in Qena upon his return from Mecca and founded a Sufi center here. Upon his death in 1195, the mosque was built above his tomb and became a place of pilgrimage. There is a huge modern mosque of Sheikh el-Qenawi in the main square which attests to his importance.
Qinā revived during and after World War II because of its position as terminu of the road to the Red Sea coast, its status as a capital of the governorate, and the construction of a bridge across the Nile, together with the upgrading of the highway through Upper Egypt, which passes through it. The town is served by the Cairo–Aswān railway; there is a military air base in the desert to the east. Qinā is now a market town and service centre for road vehicles, and it has been traditionally noted for its production of porous clay water vessels used throughout Egypt.